Home > Matt Explains > Anticipation

Anticipation

I realize that some people really hate the process of planning for a trip, the time spent online looking at different options for hotels, flights and activities. I, however, find the planning, the anticipation, to be one of the best parts about travel. As with any activity, sometimes the reality of being in a place does not match the vision in your head. There may be unpleasant smells, a building blocking the perfect view or you may even find that what you had wanted to see is no longer there. The opposite is also true, you may be blown away by the flavors and sights of a place in ways you had never anticipated. The reality is, that until you are there you will not get to experience a place. That does not keep me from trying.

I am very fortunate to be able to almost continually be planning my next trip. My job and responsibilities offer a lot of time off and a lot of opportunity to travel. Right now I am anticipating (and have planned) trips to three continents before the end of this year. Next weekend I am off to Bangkok, in October I am going to South Africa for a week and then in December I am going back to Bangkok (for school) and then home to the United States for a few weeks for the holidays. The planning, the hope, for that perfect trip is all part of the fun. The time spent looking at flight options, hotel locations and activities make my trips last far longer than the time I am in places. With each website visited and guidebook paged through the excitement builds. The memories that I bring back with me make for reminders of not just the places I visited, but also the time spent planning, the anticipation and the reminder that soon, I get to do it all over again.

  1. September 4, 2011 at 2:15 am

    What adventures you have planned! Japan will lead the 2012 line up!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

